What Occurs When You Block Somebody on Microsoft Groups

Microsoft Groups is primarily a communication instrument over which you’ll be able to talk together with your family and friends members or colleagues. It will depend on which model of Groups you might have ⏤ extra on that later. However typically, chances are you’ll really feel the necessity to block somebody on Groups for privateness and safety causes or just to get away from him/her. However what occurs after you block somebody on Groups? What they’ll or can’t do later is equally necessary.

Let’s discover out.

Distinction Between Microsoft Groups for Dwelling and Work

Earlier than we transfer on with understanding how one can block somebody on Groups and what occurs later, we have to clear the air round totally different variations of Groups. Sure, Microsoft, but once more, has a number of variations of the identical app.

Microsoft Groups now is available in two flavors. One is Groups for Dwelling and the opposite is Groups for Work. Microsoft Groups for House is for private utilization and comes preinstalled with Home windows 11 and sports activities a round white background behind the blue Groups emblem. It is usually the default chat and video app on Home windows 11. It really works quite a bit like Skype the place you may add family and friends members, chat with them, and make voice and video calls.

The Groups for Work merely has the enduring blue emblem (no background). However the variations run deeper as Groups for Work account has extra choices like groups, channels, OneDrive and SharePoint integrations, the power to create and set insurance policies, guidelines, and extra. As a result of Groups for Work requires an administrator to ask a person to hitch the workforce (group), there’s little probability that somebody is annoying/spamming you otherwise you need to block him/her. And even when somebody is harassing you, speaking to your superior could be a greater different than blocking on Groups app.

See also  6 Greatest Methods to Repair #SPILL! Error in Microsoft Excel Sheets

Lastly, even in the event you do need to block somebody on Groups for Work, you can not as a result of the choice is lacking. You possibly can solely mute or cover them. Block choice is just out there on Groups for Dwelling as a result of there, anybody can message you so it makes extra sense.

Observe: In case you do invite a visitor to your Groups for Work account, you may block them as a result of they aren’t a part of the group. The steps to dam on each Groups for Dwelling and Work stay the identical although.

So, for the aim of this text, we’ll deal with Microsoft Groups for Dwelling and perceive what occurs whenever you block somebody on Groups Dwelling app.

Block Somebody on Microsoft Groups for Dwelling

It’s straightforward to dam anybody on Groups Dwelling app.

1. Launch Groups app and seek for the identify of the particular person that you simply need to block utilizing the search bar. Groups will recommend names. Click on on the identify that you simply need to block in Groups.

searching for people in microsoft teams on windows 11

2. Click on on the identify or profile image of the particular person to view extra choices.

profile options in microsoft teams on windows 11

3. Click on on the kebab (three-dot) menu icon and choose Block contact right here.

block contact in microsoft teams in windows 11

4. Within the affirmation pop-up that follows, click on on Block to verify your choice.

confirm block in microsoft teams on windows 11

The contact is blocked now in your Groups for Dwelling app.

Unblock Somebody on Microsoft Groups for Dwelling

You possibly can nonetheless seek for contacts that you’ve blocked. So comply with the similar steps as earlier than to search out/search the contact, open his/her profile, click on on the kebab (three-dot) menu icon and choose Unblock contact.

See also  8 Finest Methods to Repair Microsoft Phrase Not Opening on Mac
unblock contact in microsoft teams in windows 11

It’s also possible to go to Settings > Individuals > Handle blocked customers and unblock customers shortly in bulk.

microsoft teams unlock option in settings on windows 11

What Occurs When You Block Contact on MS Groups for Dwelling

Nicely, a few issues occur as we’ll discover beneath.

What Occurs When You Block Somebody on MS Groups

You’ll not obtain messages, calls, and even notifications from these you might have blocked. In case you and the particular person you might have blocked are a part of a bunch chat, they’ll’t point out you within the group chat. They can not see if and when you find yourself on-line. Nonetheless, they’ll see your profile image nonetheless.

How Do You Know If Somebody Blocked You on Microsoft Groups

Groups gained’t ship you any notifications if you’re blocked by somebody. You possibly can nonetheless ship messages to him/her, nonetheless, they won’t obtain them. The message will show a Despatched standing (single tick) as a substitute of the Seen standing (eye image) whenever you hover over it.

microsoft teams message status

One option to know if somebody has blocked you on Groups or not is to @point out them in a bunch chat or strive including them to a bunch chat. If you are able to do each or both, they haven’t blocked you.

When you have blocked somebody on Microsoft Groups, you will note a notification on the backside of the chat window reminding you of your choice. You possibly can then select to unblock them in the event you so want.

blocked notification in Microsoft Teams in chat window

Can You Block Somebody on Internet, Cellular, and Desktop Apps

Microsoft Groups for Dwelling is accessible on all common desktop and cell platforms and sure, you may block somebody on all Microsoft Groups apps. Actually, block, cover, and mute, all three choices can be found to you in every single place.

What Is the Distinction Between Mute and Block in MS Groups

If you mute somebody on Groups, they’ll nonetheless ship you messages and make calls and you’ll obtain them, however you’ll not obtain notifications for a similar. It is a delicate option to ignore somebody in the event you really feel they’re annoying you. Block, alternatively, will stop their messages from reaching your inbox altogether.

See also  9 Methods to Repair Microsoft Retailer Caught on Beginning Obtain on Home windows 11

The right way to Mute and Unmute Somebody on Microsoft Groups

Merely click on on the kebab menu icon (three-dot image) subsequent to the identify of the particular person and choose Mute from there.

muting someone on Microsoft Teams on windows 11

Repeat the identical steps to unmute him/her on Groups. Observe that the choice to mute and block will solely seem as soon as one among you sends the opposite a message. In any other case, you can not mute them since you haven’t obtained any notifications from them. So no purpose to mute him/her.

What Occurs When You Conceal Somebody on MS Groups

If you cover somebody on Microsoft Groups, you gained’t obtain notifications or see their identify within the chat checklist within the sidebar. If you mute somebody, you don’t obtain notifications however you may see their names within the sidebar with a purple dot icon telling you that they’ve been attempting to achieve out. If you block somebody, you don’t obtain messages, calls, or notifications. Nothing.

To Conceal somebody on Microsoft Groups, once more, click on on the kebab menu (three-dot icon) and choose Conceal choice. To unhide, repeat the identical steps and choose Unhide from the checklist of choices.

Can You Edit or Delete Message in Microsoft Groups

Sure. You are able to do each, edit and delete messages in Microsoft Groups even after the recipient has learn the message. To take action, merely hover over the message to disclose emojis and the kebab menu (three-dot icon). Click on on the kebab menu. Now choose Edit or Delete as per your wants.

edit or delete message in microsoft teams in windows

Microsoft Groups Is the New Skype

The brand new Groups app has largely changed Skype however for some purpose, I nonetheless have each on my Home windows 11. Why do I want two messaging and calling apps? I believe Skype remains to be used and most popular by tens of millions and so it is going to be discontinued in a phased method. Groups for House is a strong app with loads of suggestions and methods beneath its sleeve.