What Occurs When You Report and Block Somebody on WhatsApp

What choices do you may have when somebody sends you unsolicited, sexual, hate, or threatening messages on WhatsApp? You’ve gotten two choices. You may both block them or block and report them. However this raises some questions. What occurs if you block or block and report somebody on WhatsApp? Much more importantly, what’s the distinction between the 2?

Let’s discover out.

The right way to Block or Block and Report Somebody on WhatsApp

Allow us to begin from the start.

Other than some UI variations, the steps to dam and block and report on WhatsApp are the identical for each Android and iOS. I shall be utilizing iPhone for example right here.

1. To dam a contact on WhatsApp, open WhatsApp and go to Settings > Accounts > Privateness > Blocked, and faucet on Add New.

2. Seek for the contact that you just need to block and faucet on the title of the contact. You can not select a number of contacts right here.

blocking contact in whatsapp

To unblock a contact on WhatsApp, return to Settings > Accounts > Privateness > Blocked and choose the contact you need to unblock, and faucet on Unblock on the backside of the display screen.

unblock contact on whatsapp

You may as well block contacts from the chat window by tapping on the title to entry the identical display screen as above. Right here you can find two choices – Block or Report. If you choose Report, once more, you will note two choices – Report and Block or Report.

See also  21 Issues to Know About WhatsApp Message Reactions
report or report and block a contact in whatsapp

After getting reported a contact, you can’t un-report it. You may unblock a contact although.

What Occurs When You Block and/or Report Somebody on WhatsApp

Now that you understand how to dam or block and report somebody on WhatsApp, we’ll discover what occurs afterward. What the contact you may have blocked can and can’t do.

1. What Occurs to Outdated WhatsApp Chats

No matter whether or not you may have blocked the contact or blocked and reported the contact, earlier chat historical past stays intact. Outdated messages and information shared will proceed to be seen to each events on WhatsApp.

There are a couple of methods to export WhatsApp chat historical past as a PDF file in case you might be apprehensive about shedding knowledge.

2. Can They Ship New Messages, Calls, Information

Contacts who’re blocked or blocked and reported on WhatsApp can’t ship new messages, make audio/video calls, or ship information. Nevertheless, if the contact has been reported however not blocked, he/she will nonetheless do all of these issues till you block them.

when you are blocked on whatsapp

When blocked, any message they try to ship you’ll present with one checkmark which denotes that the message has not been delivered but. It’s going to stay that manner ceaselessly. Any calls they make will proceed to ring however you’ll not hear and even obtain notification about the identical.

3. Can You Ship New Messages, Calls, Information

No, you’ll be able to’t ship messages, make calls, or ship information both if the contact is blocked or blocked and reported in your finish. First, you want to unblock them after which you are able to do all these issues. Once you attempt to ship a message, WhatsApp will remind you that the contact is blocked and that you want to unblock it first.

whatsapp reminder to unblock contact in chat window

You probably have merely reported the contact on WhatsApp, you’ll be able to nonetheless talk.

4. Do They Obtain Notification of Block or Report

No, no notification is shipped to the contact who’s blocked, reported, or blocked and reported on WhatsApp. There are, nonetheless, a couple of methods to know if the contact has blocked you. For instance, if you’re blocked, you’ll be able to’t see their standing updates, ship messages to them or make calls, or see their profile pic and different data.

See also  5 Finest Methods to Export WhatsApp Chat to PDF

5. Can They See My Final Seen, Standing Updates, Profile Photograph

Once more, if the contact has been blocked or blocked and reported on WhatsApp, they will’t see any of the above after they had been blocked. Nevertheless, if the contact was merely reported then they will nonetheless see your profile photograph, final seen, and standing updates.

With the most recent replace, you’ll be able to conceal your WhatsApp About and another items of profile data from contacts with out having to dam them.

6. Will Blocking and Reporting Delete My Contact From Their Cellphone

The quick reply isn’t any. Whether or not you block, report, or block and report a contact on WhatsApp, their quantity in your telephone and your quantity on their telephone is not going to be deleted robotically. That must be carried out individually and you haven’t any management over their smartphone.

7. What About Messages/Calls After You Block Them on WhatsApp

We famous that in the event you block somebody on WhatsApp they usually ship you a message, it’s going to present with one checkmark. After that, in the event you unblock the contact, that message is not going to be delivered robotically. Messages despatched through the blocked interval stay pending ceaselessly. In different phrases, they’re misplaced.

If the particular person tries to name you after they’re blocked, they are going to hear your telephone ringing however you’ll not hear or see something in your finish. The decision won’t ever join nor any notification shall be despatched of the identical.

Nevertheless, when you’ve got merely reported somebody on WhatsApp, they will message and name you continue to.

8. Can You Block or Report Unknown Quantity on WhatsApp

In case you obtain a message or name from an unknown quantity on WhatsApp, you’ll be able to block, report, or block and report the quantity. The truth is, the choice shall be seen proper beneath the chat message.

See also  Learn how to Add WhatsApp Chat Icon to House Display screen on Android and iPhone

Nevertheless, you’ll be able to’t block or report a quantity straight with out saving it first if no message was delivered to you.

9. What Occurs When You Report Somebody on WhatsApp

Once you report or block and report a quantity, WhatsApp will obtain the final 5 messages despatched by the contact, telephone quantity, person id, time of the message despatched, and kind of message (textual content, picture, video, file). No notification shall be despatched to the one who was reported.

However they will nonetheless see your profile, ship messages or information, and make calls except you block them. These are two totally different options.

10. Can I Report View As soon as Photograph/Video

Sure, if the message despatched is in View As soon as mode, you’ll be able to open the file, choose the kebab menu (three-dot icon), and choose Report Contact possibility.

11. The right way to Know If Somebody Blocked You on WhatsApp

Easy. Create a WhatsApp group and take a look at including that particular person to the group. In case you can then you aren’t blocked. Nevertheless, in the event you can’t add him/her to the group, then you might be blocked.

12. What About Group Chats

Group chats stay unaffected. In case you and the particular person you may have blocked on WhatsApp are members of the identical group, each of you’ll be able to see one another’s messages within the group. Block works for private one-to-one messages solely.

Block and Report Works In another way on WhatsApp

Reporting and blocking are two separate options on WhatsApp that can be utilized collectively. Block characteristic is beneficial if you would like peace of thoughts and don’t need to be disturbed by the opposite particular person. Report is if you consider that the particular person is sending obscene, violent, or hateful messages and also you need WhatsApp to take motion. If WhatsApp deems it match, they are going to ban that quantity from their database however there isn’t any strategy to know for positive.